News:

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact admins via email. tankathaf *at* gmail.com or
recusantathaf *at* gmail.com

Main Menu

Aloha, Happy Atheists!

Started by Yodas_Apprentice, March 23, 2012, 10:56:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Yodas_Apprentice

Hello to all of you here :)

Though I have just signed up, I've been hearing wonderful things about this site from my wife (DeterminedJuliet) for some time now.  From all appearances, your name aptly summarizes exactly what your community is - a Happy Atheist Forum!

A bit about myself:  I'm from St. John's, Newfoundland (Canada), but am currently living with my wife and our son in Ottawa while I'm doing my PhD in English.  I was born into a Catholic family, but was never able to reconcile the often contradictory nature of Christian dogma.  I officially started describing myself as an atheist when I was about 15 and I haven't looked back since.

I'm very open about my atheism with friends and family, and happily discuss why with anyone who's curious (though I actually get more people who ask me why I'm a vegetarian than why I'm an atheist).  I've been rather lucky in this respect as most, if not all, of the people in my life have been very accepting of my atheism, even if they do not understand or agree with my reasoning.

That's about it for now I guess :)  I'm sure you'll all find out more about me as I become more integrated/involved!
"I'm a madman with a box without a box!!" -Eleventh Doctor, "The Doctor's Wife"

DeterminedJuliet

Yay! You've joined our cult community!

"We've thought of life by analogy with a journey, with pilgrimage which had a serious purpose at the end, and the THING was to get to that end; success, or whatever it is, or maybe heaven after you're dead. But, we missed the point the whole way along; It was a musical thing and you were supposed to sing, or dance, while the music was being played.

Asmodean

Where is me offerings?

You did tell him about the offerings, yes?