What to do if I'm a therapist and my client wants to talk religion or politics?

Started by MatureMcLeod, January 18, 2017, 01:11:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Recusant

In MatureMcLeod's defense--even though he mostly hasn't responded to people here, he has done so on occasion. Here, he answered a question, and here as well, while here he expressed agreement with previous posts.

In my opinion, part of the purpose of this site is to be a place where people who're in tough situations at least partly because of their atheism can find sympathetic ears. I welcome such people's presence here as long as they're not breaking any rules of this site, even if they don't interact much with us. I admit that this sort of behavior can be frustrating, though. :-\
"Religion is fundamentally opposed to everything I hold in veneration — courage, clear thinking, honesty, fairness, and above all, love of the truth."
— H. L. Mencken

Biggus Dickus

Quote from: Gloucester on January 18, 2017, 03:49:51 PM
Quote from: Firebird on January 18, 2017, 03:34:45 PM
Quote from: xSilverPhinx on January 18, 2017, 03:28:33 PM
Quote from: Tank on January 18, 2017, 09:03:09 AM
On the basis of your previous posts I would strongly suggest you are not suited to the role of therapist.

I'm going to second this. :this:

I don't mean to be harsh but it seems you could use quite a few sessions yourself, and are not apt to help others with their issues at the moment.

Thirded.
Fourthed

Fiftheded.

"Some people just need a high-five. In the face. With a chair."

Davin

Always question all authorities because the authority you don't question is the most dangerous... except me, never question me.

Asmodean

Quote from: Recusant on January 18, 2017, 05:13:02 PM
In MatureMcLeod's defense--even though he mostly hasn't responded to people here, he has done so on occasion. Here, he answered a question, and here as well, while here he expressed agreement with previous posts.